Leave a comment

Outfitting my characters

Hey all,

While searching for tips and ideas for questing and my characters in Lord of the Rings Online, I came across a wonderful blog called Cosmetic Lotro. The Author, Hymne, is dedicated to getting her characters wonderful outfits. This is the outfit that got me inspired to search for nice outfits for my own characters.

Outfitting, why?
To be honest, I don’t have a special reason. For me it’s simply one more way of immersing myself into the world of Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings. A part of Roleplaying in the game, if you will. And heck, why shouldn’t I use something like this to get more immersed?

So, why did the above mentioned outfit inspire me? Well, it shows the attention the developers and designers have paid to the possibility of getting dressed appropriately. It’s not only that you can mix and match colors. It’s also the proof of “wear & tear”, if you know what I mean.

My characters
At the moment I don’t have an idea for a color or outfit or anything for my characters yet. I’ll have to think about that. I am thinking, though along the lines of the chosen vocations, but I don’t know yet if and how that’s possible. It will be fun to find out though.

I think it will be fun too, to have one character who’s….. provoking and have her/him outfits in which the colors really clash with one another or something like that. Just for the fun of it. Or perhaps with really bright colors. It’s something I’ll have to keep in mind, though.

Colors
Now, as I understand it you can use dyes to color your clothing and such. And if my information is correct, the Scholar is the ideal profession to be able to do that. So…. One of my characters will be a Scholar. That way he/she can make all the necessary dyes and of course…. potions! Really handy 🙂

Free outfits
I’ve noticed that you can receive outfitting rewards with fulfilling quests and such. One of the things is a summer-like outfit. I’ve seen this Lithe Blue outfit on Hymne’s blog and I think it’s wonderful! For me it’s an inspiration of fulfilling everything (or as much as possible) of the Summer event, so that I’ll be able to get an outfit like this. It’s wonderful!

Outfitting will be a fun challenge besides doing all the quests and playing for free.

Have fun!

About Ilse Mul

Junior Game Designer, Author, Lotro addict, Puzzle Pirates addict

Leave a Reply

