1 Comment

Crafting: Becoming a Farmer

RosangiyaWelcome to Middle-Earth. Chocoholic asked me to tell you my experiences with my farming Profession (she’s nosy, that woman). I’ve thought hard and long about it. Giving away my secrets to the trade is not an easy thing to do, but I’ve decided it might be to the benefit of all hobbits and other peoples to share experiences on farming. So, I decided to do as she asked and give you my farming experiences.
Oh, a little warning: Chocoholic is not only a nosy woman, but she also tends to leave extra notes when she passes on letters and reads our notes and guides here. I’ve seen letters from others and her notes are easily recognizable. They’re always bold, italic and in a maroon color. odd… I’ve never seen such a color used in writing, but apparently she fancies it.

First, let me introduce myself real quick. I’m Rosangiya, a farming hobbit from the Shire. Later on I’ll tell you more about myself. For now, let’s focus on Farming. Paying attention to your farming is important!

Farming is one of the Gathering professions in Middle-Earth. It’s by far the easiest gathering profession. I’ll explain later on why I think that. First, let’s get you started in Farming.

Choosing your vocation

Vocations Overview

Vocations Overview

As you can see in the Vocations overview, there are several vocations with which you can farm. Which vocation to choose is all up to you, but let me give you a few tips specifically for the farming profession. The three vocations with the Farming profession are:

  • Woodworker
  • Historian
  • Yeoman

Now, as a Woodworker you don’t NEED the farming profession. This is really a profession to make some extra bucks, nothing more, nothing less.
A Historian, however, is a different story. The Scholar profession from the Historian vocation, relies on the Farming profession for ingredients for dyes and paints. Farm fields have a tendency to drop extra items besides the crop you sowed. Several of these extra items can be used in dyes, like a lily-of-the-valley leaf for paint and dyes. The drop rate of the extra items is not fixed. It can vary a lot. Keep this in mind if you want to use the farming profession specifically for the scholar, cause it’s not unusual to get no extra items for a while before these extra items drop. The ingredients a scholar need, are usual rare drops from the farming fields.
The Yeoman is the vocation which relies on the farmer the most. Most of the produce from the farmer is used by the cook. If you’re looking for a combination of professions that has the most support, the Yeoman is the best vocation for the farmer.

Vocation Chosen

Vocation Chosen

Once you’ve chosen your vocation, you will immediately receive your inferior tools and your crafting guide from the master or mistress of apprentices. Now, the above text suggests that you can actually start with your professions, but that’s not true. You’ll first need to get your quests to learn your profession, you silly! How else do you think you’ll learn! Besides the guide and the inferior tools, you will also have received the accompanying skills.

Accompanying Class
The beauty of Farming is you don’t need to travel far and you can get anything you need from the farmhands. Since you don’t need to hunt anything, you don’t need a specific class for this profession.
The other way around, there’s no specific class which needs the farming items, as Chocoholic explained in “Crafting Part 1: The Basics“. She did an okay job with that. Perhaps it’s a bit…. too long, but then again, I’m not the one to talk. I think this guide will be extensive as well.

Supporting Profession
In this case Farming is a supporting profession. There is no other profession on which a farmer really relies on for support. If you’re looking for better tools, however, the Methalsmith is the one you’re looking for. Keep in mind, though, the Methalsmith does not have a farming profession in the vocation. I have a friend who’s cook, so she’ll get all my produces. Personally I’m more of a woodworker, so I’ve combined farming with Woodworking and Forestry. Perhaps I’ll tell you more about those later on.

One comment on “Crafting: Becoming a Farmer

  1. […] gotten very good responses on my previous guide, Chocoholic told me, so I think the next step can be taken. Take a seat next to the field here. […]

Leave a Reply

