3 Comments

The update brings loads of problems…..

Hey all,

Well, yesterday I didn’t have time anymore to download the update and login to the game. As it turns out I might not even be able to login.  Right now I’m downloading the update. But Turbine has already announced there are problems with the game. A user found this information in the support:

LOTRO Update 11 Game Launcher: “Internal Error Contact Support” OR Play button greys out.

“Internal Error Contact Support” OR Play button greys out.

1.) If you are experiencing either of these issues after the update 11 launcher changes please attempt the following steps:

First close out of the launcher and relaunch it however do so by right-clicking the shortcut and choosing “Run as Administrator”.

2.) If there is no change use these additional steps below to attempt to reset the launcher settings to default:

To start, please first make sure that the game launcher is fully closed out, you might want to reboot the pc just to be sure, and then perform the following:

  1. Click on the Windows “Start” button and click “Run” or click in the the search bar (on Windows 8 if using the new UI, “swipe” in from the right and click into search)
  2. Copy & paste the following command exactly as it appears below hitting enter when done:%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\

    Note that if you are using Windows XP use this one instead:

    %USERPROFILE%\Local Settings\Application Data\

  3. Within that folder, you should see a folder named “Turbine
  4. Right-click on it and choose “Delete”.  If you receive an access denied message at this point the game launcher is most likely still running
  5. Once it is placed into the system’s recycle bin, relaunch the game to test

3.) If you still encounter either issue after the above then close out of the launcher again and go into your “Documents” or “My Documents” folder and within there find the new “Userpreferences.ini” file (Note that this is a launcher specific Userpreferences file stored in the root “My Documents” not the one stored in your “The Lord of the Rings Online” folder that also resides within Documents) and right-click on it choosing “Rename” and rename it “OLDUserpreferences.ini” and relaunch to test.

4.) Lastly if none of the above have any effect on the launcher click the button to the right of “Support” and set the launcher language to “FR” or “DE” temporarily, allow it to patch up, then after the EULA screen test launching to character select, if the error no longer occurs exit back out to revert to EN and try again.

Please follow up with Technical Support if you continue to encounter issues.

So, I wonder if I can login at all. I really hope so. I heard you get the Hobbit presents immediately too. Although I haven’t logged in with every account yesterday, I think, I hope I’ll get a few nice presents with the accounts I did manage to login with.

Anyway, for now I’ll need to wait until the patch is complete. As is stated on Twitter:

We are continuing to investigate issues that are preventing some people from logging in. Thanks, and we’ll keep you updated!

In short, they still don’t know when the problem’s going to be fixed.

I hope the above information was useful for you if you encountered problems. While I’m waiting for te patch/update to complete, I’m going to check the screenshots of all the deeds I made yesterday. Only about 400 more to go before I can update all the deed information here.

Have fun!

About Ilse Mul

Junior Game Designer, Author, Lotro addict, Puzzle Pirates addict

3 comments on “The update brings loads of problems…..

  1. […] The update brings loads of problems….. (lotroadventures.wordpress.com) […]

  2. I got in first time…lol..is the new loader slower?…
    Now I keep losing server:(

  3. […] The update brings loads of problems….. (lotroadventures.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

