Leave a comment

Possible questions for Q & A with the Devs?

Hey all,

Now that we’ve had two editions with Q & A with the Devs, I thought it might be fun to see what question we could think up to ask. I’ll start with a few of my own and questions which have come up in comments on earlier Q & A highlights.

Q1: Why do cooks hardly have any dropped recipes, at least on the lower levels?

Let’s see what recipes are dropped for cooks, at least according to Lotro-Wiki.

  • Apprentice tier: 0
  • Journeyman tier: 1 (which I think is in fact a Barter recipe instead of a drop)
  • Expert tier: 1 (which is open for discussion as it’s really a drop from a gift box and it’s also a barter recipe)
  • Artisan Tier: 1 (which is open for discussion as it’s really a drop from a gift box and it’s also a barter recipe)
  • Master Tier: 1 (which is open for discussion as it’s really a drop from a gift box and it’s also a barter recipe)
  • Supreme Tier: 7
  • Westfold Tier: 12
  • Eastemnet tier: 16

Okay, granted, this is a kind of pet-peeve for me. I’ve got a Master Eastemnet Cook and from the minute I started looting scroll cases for every profession BUT the cook I had wondered this. So… I’m not near those higher leveled areas where I could get the Supreme, Westfold and Eastemnet tier recipes. I do, however, make occasional instance runs. I think I might start using the marks from those runs to get me some scrolls. No humanoid drops, but barters at the skirmish camps is also good for me 🙂

Q2: Why do we have these fixed hooks for the furniture in our house/garden? Is this going to change with the Housing update later this year?

I’d really love to see the possibility to place my furniture anywhere I like. That would give us much more opportunities to really design our house and garden style. I’ve experience in other games where we could place our furniture anywhere we’d like to have it and that was great! It really gives you much more chance to make your house and garden your own.

Q3: Are you going to reward/acknowledge in-game Roleplaying in the game?

Although I don’t do much roleplaying these days, I think it would be a good thing if Turbine would reward/acknowledge in-game roleplaying in the game. I think that would encourage more roleplaying on all servers as well. I think it would be a good chance to get more people really immersed in the world of Tolkien, or at least in Lotro 🙂

Q4: Are there any plans to introduce a new hobby system once Helm’s Deep is released?

Right now we’ve only got fishing as a hobby. It’s fun, but it would be more fun if we’d have more hobbies. As Adrian Tan stated earlier:

I think I would really like to see something new in-game, a hobby that does not require a money sink from the store, one that is fun enough to take my mind of questing, and finally something that offers progress to my character be it with deeds, crafting or economy.

I wholeheartedly agree with him. Fishing gives you something for crafting (the cook), something for your house (when you’ve caught a specific fish, or a certain amount of a certain fish) and deeds, apparently. Perhaps we can have gardening as a hobby? That would fit with the Hobbits, I think. I can’t think of anything else at the moment, but I’m sure more ideas could come up in the future!

Well, those are the question I have at the moment. What are your questions?

About Ilse Mul

Junior Game Designer, Author, Lotro addict, Puzzle Pirates addict

Leave a Reply

