4 Comments

Helm’s Deep revealed

Hey all,

Massively had the opportunity to have an early look into Helm’s Deep! You can see everything about their visit here!

I’ve got a few highlights from their visit for you with thanks to Massively for the wonderful insight!

Overview of all new things to come
Helm’s Deep will officially be Update 12. So all updates until then is all 11.x. Once you see Update 12 announced by Turbine… Helm’s Deep is there! So, what does Helm’s Deep bring us?

  • 5 new zones
  • Three new books in the Epic Story
  • 300 quests
  • New level cap: 95
  • New crafting Tier
  • New armor and cosmetics

Trait Trees
Earlier I said I could imagine the trait trees being like Rift and lo and behold, what do the trait trees look like?

hdreleasepic-traitlines

The way I see it now you’ll really need to choose between your skills, but maybe that’s a good thing. It will give you the chance to tweak your character exactly the way you want it to. True, you might now have all the skills available, but do you use all the skills? Granted, my highest level character is only level 34, so I don’t have all skills yet. But I do see I don’t use everything I’ve slotted. There are certain skills readily available and some just kick ass and thus I want to use them. Others… not so much. So, all in all I think this is a change for the better.

From the 20 Questions, we already knew we’ll only get 2 free trait lines. If you want more, you’ll have to pay for it. The above picture does show something else, but I think it’s best to bet on 2 free traitlines anyway. I just hope we don’t need to pay too many Turbine Points, cause right now I just need everything for my questpacks.

I will have to get used to everything though. I really need to set up a schedule if it turns out Turbine will introduce Helm’s Deep in November, cause that’s my NaNoWriMo month and I’m determined to write my second story in November. And I DON’T have a holiday this year!

Epic Battle System
Now there’s something I’m looking forward to! You can already participate in this at level 10! The only thing I haven’t seen yet, if it’s free for all players. Or is it store-gated? Can’t seem to find an answer to that yet. I hope it’s free to play. That way really everyone can participate!

With the different roles everyone can take it will be fun, I think.

What not?

  • Housing update (will come this year, a date just hasn’t been set; to quote Sapience: The housing update is not part of the expansion. That doesn’t mean we aren’t still planning on making changes this year (after the expansion launches))
  • More mounted skills
  • Traditional instances or Skirmish (that’s why we get the Epic Battles!)

Although a date hasn’t been set yet, I am looking forward to hearing more about it and seeing more screenshots! I hope people on the testservers will be able to release information soon!

What do you think of the information we’ve gotten? Are you looking forward to this new expansion?

About Ilse Mul

Junior Game Designer, Author, Lotro addict, Puzzle Pirates addict

4 comments on “Helm’s Deep revealed

  1. OMG A TALENT TREE. Now I am definitely interested in LOTRO again.

    Personally, I don’t care about the housing system in LOTRO. I think it’s a waste of time, probably because I don’t like other people coming up in my house haha.

    • lol I just love my house. Perhpa snot many people come by and visit, but it’s part of the “game immersion” for me. My characters have a home to return to πŸ™‚

      And the Talent Tree, I’m glad it got you interested again!

      And welcome here! Thank you for visiting πŸ™‚

  2. I love the game and spend a lot of time on it. However there is never enough storage and I am tired of paying for it. A kinship house should have more chest and so should your personal home. Don’t even get me started on the vault. The guild drives me insane with the wait time in between all the items you have to make it is nerve racking. To spend all this time hunting farming and leveling and for what. The auction is a joke with the prices some people are charging they are just outrageous..!!! So I am looking forward to seeing what helms deep has to offer us in armor an jewelry also the so called first age and second age weapons…My third age weapons are better than any I have seen. That appear too only go to level 60 so far. I am really looking forward to the music and the epic battles along with fresh new scenery again. I don’t mind putting in the time and effort but the out come has to be worth it. With out the proper reward I will lose interest. I was disappointed that the war steed that comes with helms deep is only cosmetic. I love the outfits and the decked out horses and there is no room for you to own a few so that’s a waste of time too. I wanted the White Goat too..!! I was running out of room for my skills ports and companion slots. I wish there were a book on LOTRO I am use to playing alone most of the time and smaller fellowships. So when I have gone into some larger fellowships I found it more difficult to heal that many people really could use some info on how not to let my fellowship down for a lack of know how. I have played for a long time off and on an have a devoted small group that we love to roll with LORTO every chance we get. So I don’t want to come off as if I am putting game down I am not.. I just wish certain things just were not so tedious. I would seriously enjoy it more and a few of my other friends and family would want to play. Instead they play on mostly X Box Live, Halo, Zombies and play station 3 & 4 and more where they can even build the own virtual world or realm to battle in. Wish is cool to but I really enjoy LOTRO. Thanks for all the hard work and pure genius that goes into this game WE LOVE IT. Helms deep here we come .. CHARGE…!!!!

Leave a Reply

