4 Comments

Back… Sorta

Hey everyone,

First, I want to take a moment to remember all the victims of #FlightMH17 on our National day of Mourning here in the Netherlands. I think it’s safe to say the thoughts of many of the Dutch, like my own, are with the victims and their family and friends. Let’s hope the Dutch Institution for Forensics can give clarity in a short time to all relatives, both the Dutch as all others who were victims in this tragic flight. It was a horrendous deed, what’s been done, and I can only, and many others with me, that those who did this will be properly punished. But first, let’s get the victims and their belongings out of the Ukraine and Russia and to the Netherlands!

Right now I’m listening to the Dutch Radio (Q-Music) and sometimes I really get choked up with the text messages they read from listeners and the songs they play. It’s heartbreaking. I can only say I’m lucky none of my family or friends have fallen victim to this aweful tragedy.

RIP Flight MH17

It’s been a while since I’ve posted here. I have been in the game a few times, but not much. And this all has a few reasons. Some good, some not that great.

Due to an injury on my foot I’ve had a hard time walking for the last two years, which really limited my work which is a bad thing. Here in the Netherlands it’s normal that once you’re on (partial) sickleave for a year, you’ll start a course where you try to find a job in another work field with another employer. Luckily I have a good employer who gave me every opportunity and was very helpful. So in a way, me getting this injury was also good.

It gave me time to focus on what I really want to do with my life. I decided I reallly want to pursue a career in game design. Yeah, I know, it’s not easy to do this about halfway your career, especially when you don’t have the education in that particular playing field, but nonetheless I’ve got loads of education and experience in another field of expertise which helps me in game design. And so my path as a game designer has officially started, albeit at the moment in my sparetime:

I’ve been building my portfolio site and actually already made a few games, besides the extensive Game Design Document I already had in development (and which is far from finished if you ask me) for a MMORPG.

Going through this process of looking for a new job (which is very hard at the moment) has taken a lot of time. Looking for possible jobs really is a fulltime job and even more than that. And I still work a few hours a day….. So I’ve hardly had the time for some proper play time. I did the Anniversary events with Sheherezi earlier this year and I managed to get her through the Spring festival as well, so she’s very happy with hew two new ponies. Yep, she’s still very obsessed with them. No matter how long it’s been since I’ve checked in on her, she keeps pestering me about possibilities to get a new pony.

I guess I’ll have to make sure she’ll be able to get a new one with the Summer Festival, shouldn’t I?

Yesterday evening I got the news Sapience (Rick Heaton) is leaving Turbine to go and work as a Community Manager for the charity organisation he’s been helping for such a long time. I think it’s great they’ll have him as a Community Manager. It’s a loss for the Lotro community. I don’t know Frelorn that well, but I wish him all the best as a Community Manager and hope he’ll be as active as Rick was.

As for other Lotro news, I’ll first need to read up on things. Now that my portfolio is properly up and running my game production is on a role and I manage to keep sending applications for a new job I think I’ll probably find some time again to play. Because I truly want some Lotro again!

About Ilse Mul

Junior Game Designer, Author, Lotro addict, Puzzle Pirates addict

4 comments on “Back… Sorta

  1. #FlightMH17 is a horror.

    Welcome back…now you have gone and made me guilty as I removed u from my links…

  2. […] to Chocoholic for that, as always in the know…and great stuff updated LOTRO ADVENTURERS BLOG […]

  3. […] I said earlier, I’ve been away from the game for quite some time. I see I almost missed the Summer Festival. […]

Leave a Reply

